Genetically Modified foods

I’m a relative newcomer when it comes down to knowing what is actually in the food that I eat.  Yes, I know about preservatives, and artificial sweeteners and all that, but I didn’t realize until I heard a report on NPR the other day, that much of the corn that we eat (it’s in everything!) is modified to include pesticides in the actual corn seed.  Did you know that?  I sure didn’t.  While the pesticides can’t be harmful to humans (or could they?) birds and such that eat the corn seeds can be harmed.  I guess there are a lot of fruits and vegetables that are genetically modified.  Some of it is probably not too bad, but it does bring to mind the “don’t mess with Mother Nature” idea.  Plus, I’m sure that GM foods mess up the natural state of the farm land.  Ok, so other pesticide use does too, but perhaps they don’t even know the true long-term ramifications of genetically modifying plants.

They say that if you truly want to make sure that your seeds aren’t messed with, to purchase heirloom seeds.  Now you know.

Here are a few websites to help you when researching the food that you eat:

GE (Genetically Engineered) Food Alert

GMwatch.org 

Center for Food Safety

EPA ~ US Environmental Protection Agency
(although there are always lobbyists about, so who knows hoe much of the EPA info is biased or what not).

So there you have it…a few resources to help you in your quest to understand what is in the food you eat.  Personally, I’m not sure I’m really ready to find out, but when I am, all I will have to do is go back into my archives. 🙂 Happy eating!

One Response to Genetically Modified foods

  1. Audrey Beauvais says:

    An interesting book is Eating at the New Gene Cafe.

Leave a Reply

