A few websites for electric and hybrid cars

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it in a previous post or not, but the reason I’m looking into a hybrid car, is that my car is getting old.  My Saturn has served me well, but it is nine years old now.  I’m approaching 100,000 miles on the car.  While we won’t get rid of it, I need to start researching other car options.

That being said, I’ve been thinking about hybrids.  And heck, while I’m at it, I’m going to shoot for the moon and do some researching about electric cars, too.

Probably the closest resource I would have to learn about electric car conversions would be the Fox Valley Electric Auto Association, the Northern Illinois chapter of the Electric Auto Association.   There is also a plug-in hybrid interest group at the EAA as well.  Finally, there is Davis Electric Cars, based in California.  They have a car called the ZENN (Zero Emission,  No Noise) but unfortunately it looks like it tops out at about 35 miles per hour.  Definitely not something I could drive on the expressway.  Oh, and did I mention they are in California??  OK, so maybe not the best option for someone who lives in the Midwest, but perhaps this post can help someone looking for an electric car (or scooter) that lives on the West Coast.

Leave a Reply

