The Better World Shopping Guide ~ Book review

In my last post, I mentioned that Tony and I attended the Green Festival in Chicago last year, on our anniversary. We had a great time, and learned a lot! One of the speakers that we heard was Ellis Jones. This guy was great. He basically said while everyone can’t be totally green, each of us can take little steps to do our part. What he did to help this effort, was to write The Better World Shopping Guide.

This little guide, meant to be stuck in your purse, briefcase, or backpack, is loaded with great information about everyday products. It is meant to be taken to the grocery store or the mall, to guide you in the products you buy. The products in this guide are given ratings, from A to F regarding their treatment of the environment, the people who make the products, whether the company tests their products on animals, and the parent company’s overall dealings in the world.

It is eye-opening, let me tell you. I checked many of the products we own, and although I was pleasantly surprised in some cases, I was deeply saddened in others. I shop at Kohl’s. For their clothes, they are marked as D-, just a step ahead of Wal-Mart, which gets an F. And Saturn, the car that I drive, gets an F, too! Can you believe it? I didn’t know. While I’m not going to get all depressed about the products that we currently have that don’t get a good rating, I am going to start paying more attention to what I do purchase. As Ellis Jones says, “The average American spends around $18,000 every year on goods and services. Think of it as casting 18,000 votes every year for the kind of world you want to live in.” So, how will you vote, namely, how will you spend your money? I’m going to start looking at my spending a little more carefully.

Here’s a cool thing, too. You can download a copy of the guide to your IPOD, (small fee) for ease of use! I haven’t done it yet, but if you try it, check it out and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

